Students Test Moot Court Skills in Annual Bettman Moot Court Competition

Bettman Competition

(LtoR) John Gray, Hannah Rodgers, Brian Higgins

On March 11, the NKU Chase Moot Court Board held its annual Bettman Moot Court Competition. This competition, which allows the best oral advocates in the first-year class to compete against one another, was judged by a panel of NKU Chase faculty and former Chase Moot Court Board members, including several who have won national or regional moot court competitions.

The winners of the 2013 competition were first place finisher Hannah Rodgers, second place finisher John Gray, and, in third place, Brian Higgins. The other students selected to compete were: Travis Johnson, Debra Harris, Janelle Haney, Andrew Burgess, Kris Burgess, Brian Morris, Daniel Osborne, and Alison Vieth.

"All of the students did a great job answering questions from an extremely hot bench.  It was the first time these students had to argue in front of eight judges, and they all handled themselves extremely well.  The judges definitely had some tough decisions to make," said Associate Dean Lawrence Rosenthal, the Moot Court Board Advisor.

Assoc. Dean Lawrence Rosenthal, Christopher Allesee '11, Lawrence Hilton '11, Carrie Russell '05, Greg Ingalsbe '11, Christen Steimle '10, Brian Riddell '04, and Marisa "Marci" Schroder '08  judged this year's competition.